Chinese Dried Mixed Rice

This recipe, is one that I am most proud of. Why? Because it even impressed my parents and aunt. They were curious about how I came up with this idea. Well, it happens that my mom left me with a bunch of these ingredients when I was away for my second year of college. I didn’t know what to do with them, so I thought of this – a one pot wonder. I figured if I let them cook together with the rice, the flavors would infuse into the rice…which it did! And that’s how I came to share my creation with my family ๐Ÿ˜‰ What’s also great is that we always have these ingredients on hand. They loved how it was a new, creative dish and super healthy (not including the canned fish, which I didn’t use at that time I cooked for them). It is an absolute favorite.

Ingredients

rice
dried mushrooms
goji berries
dried scallops
dried shrimp
dried dragon eyes
Chinese sausage
canned black beans with dace (or canned eel, sardines)ย optional

Directions

  1. Soak dried mushrooms in water for at least an hour.
  2. Rinse all ingredients.
  3. In a rice cooker or pot, add equal quantities of rice to water (can use “mushroom broth” as well). Scatter all ingredients on top and cook.

Cook Time: ~10 mins

Note

The following pictures show the (1) mushrooms, (2) berries, (3) scallops, shrimp, dragon eyes, (4) different kind ofย dragon eyes, (5) sausage, (6) canned fish.

Leave a Reply

